Castleford have named the first five players to be inducted as part of their new ‘Immortals’ programme.

The programme aims to recognise Castleford’s greatest ever players and tie the club’s past to its present.

The statement explains: “This is to recognise the very best men whose names are synonymous with the club, who through their actions and conduct etched themselves into the very foundations of Castleford rugby league.

“These players will be recognised and going forward they will be known as: Castleford Immortals.”

Article continues below the advert

The first five players to be inducted are:

Arthur Atkinson
Alan Hardisty
Keith Hepworth
Malcom Reilly
John Joyner

Two new players will be added each season and the panel will be invited to select their player of the year at the club’s awards night.