The draw for the first round of the Coral Challenge Cup will take place at the home Bentley ARLFC on Thursday 5 December.

The staging of the draw will coincide with a celebration of the impact of the CreatedBy RLWC2021 Capital Grants Programme and will be streamed live on the BBC Sport website, red button and the BBC Sport connected TV app, as well as through RFL channels

Bentley, who won the Yorkshire Men’s League last season to earn their place alongside 43 other community clubs and teams in the First Round draw, are one of dozens of successful applicants who have already shared in more than £1m of funding made available to ensure a lasting legacy for the game from RLWC2021.

That has delivered a total of more than £2.35m worth of projects, well on track for the target of generating an additional £10m of investment from the £10m CreatedBy RLWC2021 funding.

Article continues below the advert

Bentley received a Small-Scale Grant of almost £15,000 to cover the cost of improving the playing experience by installing new goalposts, purchase of lawnmower, line marker and fencing, along with some playing equipment for the development of the game.

Bentley chairman Pete Wainer said said: “We’re delighted to have received the World Cup funding, which will make a big difference to us as a community club. And we’re excited about Doncaster’s involvement in the World Cup itself.

“So, to have the chance to stage the Challenge Cup draw is another big boost to the club. It is also something that the local community, many of whom are involved with the Club in one way or another, can look forward to in the wake of the recent problems the local area has had with the flooding in recent weeks.”


2020 Coral Challenge Cup round dates

December 5: First Round draw (44 Community Clubs – see list below)

January 11-12: First Round

January 25-26: Second Round (22 First Round winners)

February 8-9: Third Round (11 Second Round winners, 11 Betfred League 1 clubs)

February 22-23: Fourth Round (11 Third Round winners, 13 English Betfred Championship clubs)

March 14-15: Fifth Round (12 Fourth Round winners, plus four Betfred Super League clubs – Huddersfield Giants, Hull KR, Toronto Wolfpack, Wakefield Trinity)

April 4-5: Sixth Round (8 Fifth Round winners, plus the remaining 8 Betfred Super League clubs)

May 9-10: Quarter Finals

June 6-7: Semi Finals (Double Header, details tbc)

Final: Saturday July 18, Wembley Stadium


The following 44 teams will enter the First Round draw

Ashton Bears, Barrow Island, Bedford Tigers, Bentley, British Army, Dewsbury Moor, Distington, East Hull, Edinburgh Eagles (Scotland), Featherstone Lions, Great Britain Police, Hammersmith Hills Hoists, Hunslet Club Parkside, Ince Rose Bridge, Jarrow Vikings (North East), Leigh Miners Rangers, Lock Lane, London Chargers, Longhorns (Ireland), Milford, Normanton Knights, Oulton Raiders, Pilkingtons Recs, RAF, Rhondda Outlaws (Wales), Rochdale Mayfield, Royal Navy, Saddleworth Rangers, Siddal, Sherwood Wolf Hunt, Skirlaugh, Stanningley, Thatto Heath Crusaders, Thornhill Trojans, Torfaen Tigers (Wales), Underbank Rangers, Upton, West Bank Bears (Widnes), West Bowling, West Hull, Wests Warriors (London), Wigan St Judes, Wigan St Patricks, York Acorn