Jared Waerea-Hargreaves and Siosiua Taukeiaho are battling it out to become the first prop forward in history to win the Golden Boot award

The shortlist for the 2019 has been cut to three players with New Zealand full-back Roger Tuivasa-Sheck the other player in the running.

The award recognises the best player in international games over the past 12 months, and Kiwi pair Tuivasa-Sheck and Waerea-Hargreaves and Tonga star Taukeiaho have oosted their chances with star performances in recent Test matches.

The winner will be announced on Sunday.

Article continues below the advert

If Taukeiaho – who starred in recent wins over Great Britain and Australia – takes home the award then he will be the first player from a country other than Great Britain/England, New Zealand or Australia.

No prop has ever won the award, which has been dominated by flair players in the past. Last season’s award went to England winger Tommy Makinson.