Hastings named Man of Steel, full list of winners revealed

Salford’s Jackson Hastings has been named winner of the Steve Prescott Man of Steel as Super League’s best player.

Hastings was presented with the award by Man of Steel selection panel chair Ellery Hanley, and Prescott’s widow, Linzi, accompanied by other family members.

Hastings said: “It’s an honour and the greatest achievement of my life.

“Having the people I’ve had around me the whole has made everything so much easier.

Article continues below the advert

“We’ve got a squad of 30 at Salford, who’ve helped me become a better player, and two captains in Lee Mossop and Mark Flanagan, who’ve been tremendous influences over me.”

The Wigan-bound half was also named Fans’ Entertainer of the Year, capping a tremendous individual campaign that he’ll aim to finish as a winner at Old Trafford.

He added: “We have a whole week to prepare for the Grand Final, but we’re going to turn up and give it a shot. We’ll throw the kitchen sink and see what we can do.”

Elsewhere, St Helens forward Matty Lees was selected as the competition’s young player of the year, following a break-out season at the top level, and Saints’ great night continued when Justin Holbrook was named coach of the year, after leading the club to the League Leaders Shield and both major finals.

The Telegraph Woman of Steel was Leeds’s Courtney Hill, while in the men’s game, Danny Houghton was recognised as Super League’s top tackler and Tommy Makinson as top try-scorer.

The retiring Jamie Jones-Buchanan was honoured with a Spirit of Super League award, while there was a wider video tribute to many of the players hanging up their boots at the end of this season.

The inaugural Super League awards were held at The Lowry Theatre, Salford.