Officials for Grand Final announced

The team of match officials for the Super League Grand Final has been announced.

Chris Kendall has been appointed to referee the match, becoming the 11th official to take charge of the Old Trafford showpiece since 1998.

Kendall is a former Huddersfield Giants Academy player who joined the Rugby Football League’s panel of full-time referees in 2015, and whose previous appointments include the 2017 World Cup, where he was a touch judge in the final, and the first 1895 Cup Final at Wembley this summer, as well as the Million Pound Game in each of the last two seasons.

Ben Thaler has been appointed as video referee, with Clint Sharrad and Marcus Griffiths serving as touch-judges

Article continues below the advert

Liam Moore is the reserve referee and Dean Bowmer is the reserve touch judge.

Steve Ganson, the RFL’s Head of Match Officials, said: “Congratulations to all of the officials for their Grand Final appointments.

“As ever, it’s a reward for their performances throughout the 2019 season.”


Betfred Super League Grand Final (Saturday October 12, Old Trafford)

Referee: Chris Kendall

Touch Judges: Clint Sharrad, Marcus Griffiths

Video Referee: Ben Thaler

Reserve Referee: Liam Moore

Reserve Touch Judge: Dean Bowmer

Match Commissioner: Darren Hayes

Timekeeper: Paul Crashley


Betfred Women’s Super League Grand Final (Friday October 11, Totally Wicked Stadium, St Helens)

Referee: Greg Dolan

Touch Judges: Cameron Worsley, Gareth Jones

Reserve Referee: Billy Pearson

In-Goal Judges: Alex Cameron, Adam Williams

Match Commissioner: Aileen Mills

Timekeeper: Tony Brown