England have been drawn alongside Samoa, France and Greece in the group stage of next year’s World Cup.

The draw was held this lunchtime at Buckingham Palace, and conducted by Prince Harry, alongside Dame Katherine Grainger, and broadcasters Dave Woods and Seema Jaswal.

England will play Samoa in the opening match of the tournament at St James’ Park, Newcastle on 23 October.

Australia are in Group B and have been drawn with Fiji, Scotland and Italy, while New Zealand face Lebanon, Jamaica and Ireland.

Article continues below the advert

Meanwhile, England will get the women’s tournament under way when they take on Brazil at Headingley on 9 November.

They will also face Papua New Guinea and Canada in Group A, while holders Australia will take on New Zealand, France and the Cook Islands in Group B

In the wheelchair World Cup, England will face Australia on 11 November at London’s Copper Box Arena. Spain and Norway make up the rest of their group, while France, Wales, Scotland and the United States form group B.

RLWC2021 chief executive Jon Dutton said: “We want to deliver a truly world class event next year and we’re really excited by the first three fixtures that have come out from today’s draws.

“We look forward to announcing the full schedule of games along with ticket prices in the next few months.”

Click below to watch the draw again:


Men’s draw

Group A: England, Samoa, France, Greece

Group B: Australia, Fiji, Scotland, Italy

Group C: New Zealand, Lebanon, Jamaica, Ireland

Group D: Tonga, Papua New Guinea, Wales, Cook Islands


Women’s draw

Group A: England, Papua New Guinea, Canada, Brazil

Group B: Australia, New Zealand, France, Cook Islands


Wheelchair draw

Group A: England, Australia, Spain, Norway

Group B: France, Wales, Scotland, USA