Remaining Rochdale directors resign

The four remaining directors of Rochdale have resigned, the club has announced.

The news follows the departure of chairman Peter Rush and Ray Dutton last month and is a result of “a number of concerning issues and several difficulties” discovered following the quartet’s election in July.

The directors are Denise Dawson, Martin Hall, Mark Harris and Gavin Reynolds, who have collectively also cited the need for major changes to be made within the club and their a lack of the required support of the members to execute this.

The board’s statement adds: “After outlining the exact details of a number of pressing issues to members we felt that we had no other alternative.

Article continues below the advert

“We are all committed to ensuring a smooth handover and will remain in a supporting role until the election of a new board.

“We are willing to assist the new board with sharing information and knowledge regarding the club’s current situation, and to help complete any current projects that have been worked.

“At the same time we wish the club the very best success at these testing times.”