Organisers have announced details for October’s World Cup 9s tournament.

The competing nations were announced last month and now the fixtures and format have been revealed.

Australia will face New Zealand in both men’s and women’s games, while England take on Wales, Tonga meets the Cook Islands, and Samoa prepares for one of the tournament favourites, Fiji.

The statement adds: “And that’s just some of the mouth-watering contests scheduled for Friday, October 18 at Bankwest Stadium.

Article continues below the advert

“An opening ceremony will be held at 6pm before kick-off in the first of 28 games on the two-day program – France v Lebanon at 6.20pm.

“The following day will feature two Australian men’s and women’s Nines teams double-headers, while the stands will shake when Samoa and Tonga start their cultural dances ahead of their meeting.

“That’s all part of nine hours of action on Saturday with all teams – 12 men’s and four women’s – playing a minimum of two games.

“The two men’s semi-finals will be held at 6.55pm and 7.20pm before the women’s final at 7.45pm and the men’s final at 9pm.

“The NRL will release tickets for individual days for club ticketed members on Monday, August 5, from 10am.”

Supporters can attend Friday’s matches from $30 for adults and $80 for families, while tickets are available for Saturday’s games, including the finals, from $49 (adults) and $135 (families).

Single day-pass general public tickets will be available from Wednesday, August 7, at 10am.

Fans can take advantage of dedicated team-specific supporter sections, with a flag included in the ticket purchase.

NRL chief comemrcial officer Andrew Abdo said: “This tournament is all about entertainment – fans can see some of the best players involved in more than 12 hours of action-packed rugby league across the two days.

“Having the traditional rivalries of Australia-New Zealand and Tonga-Samoa among other great clashes will be enthralling viewing during the pool stages.

“The rivalries, the men’s and women’s doubleheaders, the colour of the competing fans, will give us wonderful entertainment.”

Group A includes Australia, New Zealand, PNG and USA; Group B will include England, France, Lebanon and Wales; while Group C features Tonga, Samoa, Fiji and Cook Islands.

The two highest-placed teams from Group A will progress to the semi-finals alongside the winners of Groups B and C.

The two highest-placed teams from the women’s pool, which features Australia, New Zealand, England and PNG, will fight out the women’s final.