Australia will travel to England for their first Ashes series in 17 years in 2020 and the third Test will be held at the new Tottenham Hotspur Stadium.

The three-match series will get underway on Saturday, October 31 2020 at the University of Bolton Stadium (KO 2.30pm), the second Test will be held at Elland Road on Saturday, November 7 (KO 2.30pm) with the series finishing at Tottenham on Saturday, November 14 (KO 5.30pm).

The 2020 Ashes series will be the 40th rugby league Ashes series since the term was first used in 1908, and will take place 50 years since the Ashes were last won by an England or Great Britain side back in 1970.

This will be the first time the Kangaroos will have visited the UK since the 2016 Four Nations series. All games will be shown live on the BBC.

Article continues below the advert

RFL chief executive Ralph Rimmer said: “We are thrilled to be welcoming Australia back to this country for the first time since 2016. International rugby league is the pinnacle of our game and some of the best rugby players on the planet will be involved.

“We hope the venues we have chosen, with a split between Lancashire, Yorkshire and London, will be popular both with regular rugby league supporters and also the broader sporting public.

“The University of Bolton Stadium and Elland Road have both staged successful rugby league events in recent years, and it’s exciting for us to be taking a first fixture to the stunning Tottenham Hotspur Stadium in London.

“England were just an ankle tap away from taking the 2017 World Cup final against Australia into extra time and last year’s success against New Zealand suggests that this will be a series not to be missed.”