Try-scoring NRL winger poised for to play for Scotland

South Sydney Rabbitohs’ Campbell Graham is the headline addition to the Scotland squad for the upcoming European qualifiers.

Winger Graham, 20, has made just under 50 appearances to the NRL and qualifies to play for the Bravehearts through his father, who was born in Glasgow.

Also included is St Helens’ Lachlan Coote, who made three appearances for Scotland in the 2016 Four Nations tournament. He is joined by Hull KR’s Kane Linnett, who featured in the 2013 World Cup.

New Wakefield signing Alex Walker retains his spot, and among the youngsters selected are Leeds’ Callum Mclelland and Hull’s Kieran Buchanan.

Article continues below the advert

Oliver Wilkes – who has just retired from club rugby after more than 500 games – has put his hand up for a career swansong, having won the first of his eight caps at the 2008 World Cup.

The squad will face Serbia and Greece in Pool B as they aim to progress towards qualification.

Captain Dale Ferguson said: “I am really looking forward to pulling on the jersey.

“We will be doing all we can to make sure we qualify. They are two extremely important games against nations we have not faced before.”

Head coach Nathan Graham said: “As someone who has been involved with Scotland Rugby League for many years, I am extremely proud to be part of the coaching team for two such important games.

“The whole playing squad and staff are looking forward to two very exciting and challenging matches.”

Squad: Brett Carter (Barrow Raiders), David Scott (Batley Bulldogs), Brandan Wilkinson, Frankie Mariano (Doncaster), Craig Robertson, Lewis Clarke, Mikey Mair (Edinburgh Eagles), Matt Hogg (Edinburgh Eagles/Newcastle University), Scott Plumridge (Glasgow RL), Ben Kavanagh (Halifax), Kieran Buchanan (Hull FC), Danny Addy, Kane Linnett, Will Oakes (Hull KR), Davey Dixon, Kieran Moran (Keighley Cougars), Nick Glohe (Lakes United Seagulls), Callum Mclelland (Leeds Rhinos), Liam Hood (Leigh Centurions), Ben Hellewell (London Broncos), Charlie Emslie, Connor Terrill (Millom), Dan Turland (Murwillumbah Mustangs), Niall Sidney, Sam Luckley (Newcastle Thunder), Lachlan Stein (Newtown Jets), Izaac Farrell (Rochdale Hornets), Adam Walker (Salford), Campbell Graham (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Lachlan Coote, Luke Douglas (St Helens), Murray Mitchell, Niall Hall (Strathmore Silverbacks), Oscar Thomas (Swinton Lions), Ryan Brierley (Toronto Wolfpack), James Bell (Toulouse Olympique), Hamish Bentley, Kane Bentley (Toulouse Olympique Elite), Joe Mclean, Sam Herron (West Wales Raiders), Alex Walker (Wakefield Trinty), Brett Phillips (Whitehaven RLFC), Dale Ferguson, Oliver Wilkes (Unattached)